Rules of the Road

On not wasting my time and causing myself unnecessary pain …

“The traveler needs to learn what is useful in each situation.”
(Ibn ‘Arabi, 1981, p. 28)

“Don’t participate in thought patterns and behaviors that aren’t creative, that have no dynamism, that stagnate.” (paraphrased from a personal conversation with Lleweyllyn Vaughan-Lee, June, 2003)

On ambition and the importance of correct imagery …

“You advance nothing except your transference of knowledge (‘ilm) to vision (‘ayn).”
(Ibn ‘Arabi, 1981, p. 29)

On where I place my trust and base my belief systems …

“You belong to that which exercises its authority over you.”
(Ibn ‘Arabi, 1981, p. 29)

On feeling stalled …

“When the Beloved seem so abstract, that’s when I must persevere. Ask for God’s help.”
(paraphrased from a personal conversation with Lleweyllyn Vaughan-Lee, June, 2003)

Leave a comment