Coming to So California

A couple months ago, I found out about a workshop series that covers pretty much exactly what I want to do a PhD in. But it’s in California. And I’ve been debating about whether or not I want to get back into the commuting once-a-month thingy in order to go participate in something that won’t actually give me any degree. But I’ve found myself more and more drawn lately to opportunities for me to start covering the basic ground for what I’m gonna need to know in order to survive (much less excel) in a Religious Studies PhD program. And, so far, this sort of informal preparation by osmosis is working pretty well and is really enjoyable.

Well, last night, I sat down to sort through piles of old junk mail and such and there was the flyer again for the California thingy. And this time I was dead sure I wanted to do this and I’d be crazy to pass up the opportunity. So, starting at the end of January (which is when I should have everything but piddly revisions of my thesis done), I’m going back to Pacifica. The program is a 5 long-weekend dealy outside of Santa Barbara called Beyond Traditional Religion: Spirituality, Depth Psychology, and Nonduality”. And I can’t wait!!!

It also means that between January and the end of July, I’m gonna be in So Cal for 6 long weekends (5 plus another weekend I’ll be out there in April) and, if I plan it right, I can hang out with my L.A. friends on some of those Sunday afternoons/evenings. Looking forward to seeing you y’all, , , , and . And maybe we can coax out to play too. What do you say, ? Anyone else? Am I missing anyone?

5 thoughts on “Coming to So California

Leave a comment