Remembering Randy Pausch

Randy Pausch, computer science professor and virtual reality researcher, most recently popular for his book “The Last Lecture” (based on the talk he would give if he knew it were his last), died today, at age 47. (In 2006, he was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and, after unsuccessful treatment, was given 3 to 6 months to live in August 2007.)

When I was a grad student in comp sci at UVA, where he was teaching, I was lucky enough to have met him and been affected by his infectious enthusiasm for learning and his positive, kind nature. Thanks, Randy, for sharing that with me and so many others in your short life.

One thought on “Remembering Randy Pausch

  1. I too am thinking of him today. His partner in much of his recent work was one of my favorite theater professors (Don Marinelli), and many of the software engineers at work came through the program they created, so I’ve ended up feeling connected to him from two often opposing directions. Which is perfect, as he embodied that very coming together of seemingly disparate ideas and finding the best in all of them. He makes me proud of having CMU in my history, and I know CMU is honored to have him as part of its legacy.

    May he rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

