Grace

This whole Salida house buying thing has just been quite an education in grace. Not only did this place fall in my lap when I was only daydreaming about a house in Salida and not even looking. Not only is the place perfect for my needs. Not only did I not have to compete with any other offers and my soon-to-be neighbors are friends of mine. But my bank called today–the very day that I had decided to lock in whatever rate was available–to let me know that they are running a one-day special: 1/4% off market rate with no points.

In fact, when I woke up this morning, I thought to myself, “Dear God, what an incredibly easy and lucky thing this has been. I wonder what good thing will happen today.”

Hey, Universe, if I haven’t said it lately, then a big THANK YOU. You are truly amazing.

Late breaking edit: Apparently, my credit union’s contract with Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac doesn’t allow the purchase of a duplex as a second home. It would have to be bought as an investment property. They were still going to offer me the low rate but the closing costs would have nearly tripled (which would have eaten up the equivalent to about 13 years of the savings that the lower rate would have given me). So, back to my mortgage broker with the normal interest rate. It’s not a bad deal, I’m just pissed for all the run around and having my emotions messed with. Grrrrrrr.

One thought on “Grace

Leave a Reply

