Eid Mubarak

Eid Mubarak, friends.

(For those of you not in-the-know, today is Eid Al-Fitr, the day which marks the end of the month of Ramadan by the sighting of the new moon. Ramadan is the month in which Mohammed, on retreat in a cave nearly 1400 years ago, heard the first verses of the Qu’ran dictated to him while in an altered state of consciousness. Eid Al-Fitr is usually a day of much celebration, visiting, donating food to the poor, and in some cultures exchanging gifts and indulging in sweets. The closest thing to compare it to in historically Christian cultures is Christmas. So, Merry Eid! Or, rather, literally “Blessed Eid” to you.)

Tonight, Habiba and I will celebrate by having our first dinner at her new flat. She bought it in the spring, and, being an architect, she gutted and completely redesigned it. The renovation has taken all summer and into the fall, and it’s finally looking very swank, let me tell you.

Last night, in preparation, she made kheer (a traditional Indian sweet rice) for dessert. Yum, yum. I’m going to miss all of the great home-made cooking that I’ve been treated to while she has been staying with me this last month.

Fortunately, she lives less than a mile away. So, I plan to help her out with her leftovers as often as possible. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Eid Mubarak

  1. Eid Mubarak to you 🙂

    I was in Egypt during Ramadan, and it was fascinating to be in the midst of (almost) a whole nation solemnly observing a holy day together – and with no commercial aspect.

    I admit we figured out and took advantage of shopping just at sundown, when the vendors were too busy with dinner to haggle aggressively.

    • Hi, Boho.

      Great to see you. How in the hell are ya?

      Nope, I haven’t sent out any pics yet. We haven’t gotten around to having someone take some of us together. Maybe because I feel freakishly tall and round standing next to her. 🙂

      P. S. I screened your reply since this is a public post and I haven’t shared the news of me and my habiba with a larger audience yet.

Leave a Reply

