Going back to my old school

Well, my old friend kerblam is gonna tie the knot this year on Turkey Weekend. And that means I get to go back to my hometown for the first time in *years* and reconnect with folks.

I can’t wait to see kerblam and the rest of the gang. I’m not so in touch with the regular high school set. But, in the last few years, the church youth group folks from that era have been tracking each other down. And kerblam and I picked right up with each other like we’d never been apart. On the whole, I’d say, high school sucked and I couldn’t wait for it to be over but for times with these folks. We had simple fun and simple friendships that helped me stay grounded during a difficult time but, sadly, I probably wouldn’t recognize most of their faces if these friends walked by me on the street now, 20 years and 1000 miles out of context.

I’m looking forward to it!

Leave a Reply

