Pay It Forward

When my folks came out over the holidays, they stopped by my dad’s sister’s place and she passed along to them a recording of the Dalai Lama and his entourage chanting at the sick bed of Vaclav Havel. It’s incredibly beautiful. Since it supposedly is meant to be freely distributed, I loaded it up to my website for download by an LJ buddy who was/is going through a tough time and I gave a copy to my D.O since she likes to play chants in her treatment room. I saw my doc last week for a back adjustment and she thanked me profusely. Apparently, her clients love it so much that many have been asking for personal copies. Recently, one of her patients, a man who is dying from cancer, thanked her for it and told her he has been listening to it all day, every day and meditating and that it gives him great peace. Another patient pointed out that it is the Sanskrit Healing Mantra.

If it has worked for them, you might like it too. Click here.

I’m ever so grateful to be part of such a healing chain.

5 thoughts on “Pay It Forward

  1. Dalai Lama

    Thanks for sharing this. It created an amazing sense of calm and peace in me when I listened to it. – Lynn

  2. I sent this on to my father. He likes it very much. So much that he did some research on it. There doesn’t seem to be any indication that it really came from the Dalai Lama’s entourage chanting for Vaclav Havel. In fact, the Dalai Lama did meet with Vaclav Havel shortly after he became President, but there’s no notation of a later visit. The tape was allegedly made with a handheld recorder, but the quality seems too good for that. It’s date of origin is also shady, having been made in 2006 but some versions go back to 2005 and so on.

    Are you able to trace it back any further than your father’s sister? Dad is very interested in getting the real story on it, if one is available. Maybe get more chants from the same source, I guess, or just out of curiousity.

    • You’ve got a good detective there. I’ll ask my aunt. FWIW, the copy I have on my website was downloaded from a site which corroborated my aunt’s story about it being for Vaclav Havel. (Which of course says nothing about the veracity of the story. Teh Internets is a wild place, you know.)

      I’ll ask my aunt where she got it.

Leave a Reply

