I completely forgot to mention …

I have a new/old housemate! My dear friend who has been away in Chile for the last 6 months got back into town around Xmas. She had a hard time finding a place to live since most everyone was away on vacation, but eventually landed a room in a house with an agreement that it was quiet and cat-friendly. She was at the new place all of 4 1/2 days before it became apparent that the woman from whom she was renting her room thought that parties until 4 AM constituted “quiet” and oh-by-the-way the third bedroom is going to be occupied by a guy with a big dog. My friend tried to be reasonable and communicate with her about it, but it was just not the kind of low-stress, low-distraction scene my friend needed.

So, she called me on Sunday the 14th and moved in on Monday. She and I have lived together a couple of times before, and we are very compatible, both needing lots quiet, alone time but loving having someone to come home to and share the review of the day with. She laughs a lot and having her around lifts my spirits and makes me laugh more too.

At the moment, she’s living in the guest bedroom in the basement. Which isn’t ideal for either of us, since I usually spend a lot of time down in the adjoining rec room but I don’t feel comfortable going down there and making noise while she is sleeping. (And since she is a student, she has quite different sleeping hours than me.) Plus, it’s not great for her because, frankly, who wants to live in a basement where there’s hardly any natural light?

So, the plan is to move my monstrous grand piano over to ‘s house (since he has played it more than I have in the last few years anyway) and she’ll take over the upstairs studio as her bedroom. The only potential gotcha is that she has a kitty and, last year, my cat, P’Sheesh, had some bloodwork done that showed that he is a potential carrier for the corona virus which can develop into a nasty disease. So, we’re keeping our cats separate until I can get P’Sheesh checked out to make sure he’s healthy–he seems to be–and his virus titers haven’t developed.

I’m just thrilled to have my friend there. She’s easy to live with and communicate with, we have known each other over 10 years and just intuitively understand each other, and it’s really nice to come home and feel her presence in the house even if we aren’t in the same room. It just makes me feel a lot more grounded, loved, and, well, like a nicer person.

One thought on “I completely forgot to mention …

Leave a Reply

