Entrepreneur

I went to my first Boulder Small Business Development Center workshop last week, led by Ira Nottonson. The class was ostensibly on building business plans, but Ira had lots of other useful advice as well. I intend to go through my notes and make them available in some generally usable format somewhere. But, for now, here’s one little gem that got me excited. He said that he has had businesses on both coasts and that Boulder is an exceptional place to become an entrepreneur: There are lots of resources here, lots of people doing it successfully, and, most importantly, people here are not jealous of others’ successes and generally want to help other people to be successful as well. Lesson #1: Get thee a mentor. Truly successful entrepreneurs, the kind that you want to associate with, will be happy to share what they’ve learned and to help you be successful too. It won’t be hard; you just have to ask.

My “everything you need to know to start a small business” class starts in a week and a half. So, more coming for sure. My main motivation to learn is for my own business that I’d like to start. But I could also use some practice and momentum before I take the training wheels off. Tonight, I meet with my buddy and his buddy who have a thing going that they’d like to turn into money-making venture. I think their idea is a good one and we’re going to talk about bringing me in as someone who can provide them some business framework and keep a fire lit under their butts.

I still have a thesis to finish and day job to keep and relationship to water and weed. (Those aren’t in any particular order of priority.) I also know that I can easily get mightily involved in and excited about new learning opportunities, so much so that even basic housecleaning doesn’t get done. So, this will also be an exercise in pacing and self-care.

The more I get used to thinking of myself as an entrepreneur, the more it just makes total sense. I just don’t feel like the kind of person who makes a good employee anymore.

2 thoughts on “Entrepreneur

  1. The more I get used to thinking of myself as an entrepreneur, the more it just makes total sense. I just don’t feel like the kind of person who makes a good employee anymore.

    You as your own boss makes complete sense to me… I already can see you clearly, working on your own terms and finding joy in both the creative and practical sides…

    How exciting!

Leave a Reply

