Random Bits

Quicky news update

  • Hard drive on my home computer is sick. I have an appointment with an official “Apple Genius” to get it fixed tonight. The irony is that it started making a funny noise right after I flipped it upside down yesterday while it was running to check and make sure my laptop battery wasn’t part of the big lithium ion recall. It wasn’t. Thank the gods that it is under warranty and I back up my data. I already learned that lesson once the hard way.
  • Hermes and I just don’t seem to be able to get our wires uncrossed. I am consistently amazed at the things that he has interpreted so disturbingly differently than what I meant, and then he doesn’t see why we have to process all of the time and can’t just get along. From his perspective, I’m no picnic either. We’ve decided to take a week off from each other. I’m OK with that.
  • Given the prevous two items, I had nothing to do last night but catch up on my reading. I’m almost through Thomas Merton’s, ~450-page spiritual autobiography. Good story, well-written, but if you thought I am hard on myself, then you ain’t seen nothing yet. I have enjoyed seeing the similarities among disparate spiritual traditions emerge yet again and then spun with a certain twist. While I have been once again completely drawn in by the universality of the spiritual crisis and search, the reading has left me feeling weighed down with all of the heaviness of the Catholic dogma. Why all of the self-flagellation? Can’t the ego be brought into alignment with the spirit/Self/God without such preoccupation with one’s faults and misgivings? Seems to me that God would be better glorified through humble celebration of the strangeness and complexity and wonder of life rather than constellation of an identity built around shameful sin. I’ve often said that I could see myself being a nun (the structure and minimal distractions from spiritual infusion definitely appeals) except for the little problem that I’m just not Catholic. 🙂
  • I went to this exotic animal rescue sanctuary yesterday. I can’t believe that I am so lucky to live near such a place (that rescues lions, and tigers, and bears from all over the country) and I’ve never heard of it before. Pix forthcoming (when I get my computer fixed).

    And, most urgently in the news, I have a bag of mini-cookies from Paradise Bakery (maker of The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever) on my desk. If you are reading this and can get here in time, I’m sharing as long as you promise not to chit chat about the JonBenet Ramsey case.

2 thoughts on “Random Bits

  1. I’d never heard of that sanctuary. I’m sad to hear that they are having to close due to funding shortfalls. And now having to find new homes for 150+ exotic rescues… definitely not a task I envy. 😦

    • Yeah, the thought of it gives me a belly ache. On one hand, it was awful to see such magnificent animals penned up–in multi-acre pens, but still pens. And on the other hand, they couldn’t survive in the wild and this is better the fate that I fear awaits them now that the center has to close. 😦

      I’m glad I got to check it out while it was open. It’s an amazing thing they’ve done for those animals for 25+ years.

Leave a Reply

