True Confessions: I Cry at Commercials

Every morning, I do my physical therapy exercises and I find that I whine less if I have the TV on when I do them. Usually tuned to my favorite: the History Channel. Anyway, the last week or so, they’ve been playing this commercial:

and dammit if it doesn’t make me cry from happiness every time. At first, I thought it was just that I was hormonal. But a couple of weeks have gone by and I still love it just as much.

I know, I probably should be irked that a corporation is playing on my sentimentalities to get my business. But as advertisers are having to become more and more creative and artistic to grab people’s attention, I’m happy to see that at least one is going for the humanitarian values.

(BTW, I have my car insurance with these folks and I grilled them yesterday on what they would do if I had an accident and wanted to see my choice of doctors for non-emergency injuries. I shared with them a friend’s insurance/accident horror story and wanted to know what kind of guaranties they would give me that this kind of run around wouldn’t happen to me. I kept pushing the point and the guy finally said, “I hear what you are worried about and you’d think we are just some big corporation, but I’ve worked other places and these people here are human and reasonable.”)

So, folks, ‘fess up. What kinds of things make you cry that you’d be embarrassed to admit to? I know you are out there. πŸ™‚ Anonymous replies welcome.

13 thoughts on “True Confessions: I Cry at Commercials

  1. Great spot. If being a good person is a new trendy ad gimmick, color me a suggestible consumer.

    (The guy in the elevator who ends up saving the truck from backing into the motorcycle is a good friend of mine… I’ll have to congratulate him on being in such a great spot! And that song is a great one on a great album – Rabbit Songs by Hem… I highly recommend it.)

    I am a sucker for stupid formulaic country songs. I don’t often have occasion to hear them, but there was one a few years ago that was called ‘Use Mine’ or something… I forget what happened in the first verse, but something of the kid’s broke and the dad gives him his and the chorus goes “use mine, go ahead, take it… What else is it for, I wish I could do more… Just go slow, you’re gonna be fine… Use mine.” In the second verse, the kid’s in high school and his shitty car breaks down just before he’s supposed to pick up the girl of his dreams for the prom, and his dad lends him his precious car… Then there’s a bridge where the kid grows up, has kids, loses touch with dad until dad gets sick and the son rushes to his side… And in verse 3, the dad can’t use his own arms to get out of his chair, and the son says “use mine…”

    I swear I’m tearing up just typing about it.

    • I haven’t heard that one, but I’m sure I’d be a pool of blubbering tears if I did. I don’t come across country songs all that often either. But a friend gave me a mix CD with Lee Ann Womack’s “I Hope You Dance” and I get sentimental every time I hear it come around on ye ole iPod.

  2. I haven’t even read the book…

    But there’s a book with the title “I Have A Sister. My Sister Is Deaf.”
    I don’t know why, but that makes me tear up.

    Bob and I read “A Wrinkle In Time” to each other. We finished it up while driving to my mom’s for Christmas, and the timing fell out such that Bob read the last bit. Of course, we were both crying and showed up at Mom’s all red-eyed and sniffly (and laughing at ourselves).

    The book “Love You Forever” always gets me crying.

  3. Those motherfucking stupid ass diamond commercials, the one where the guy yells “I love this woman” in the piazza and then the one where the young couple passes the old couple and then holds hands. That makes me cry. And then I get so angry that it makes me cry that I cry some more. πŸ™‚

    • Oh, yeah. I love that one. That one totally gets me and makes me feel like my sentimentalities are being taking advantage of, dammit. But still … I wouldn’t mind being that woman. πŸ™‚

  4. I second on those “stupid formulaic country songs.” I saw this video the other day for the song “Would You Go With Me,” and that just opened the floodgates. The video starts out with these two little kids playing together–a boy and a girl–and then switches to them as dating teenagers, and then adults, still together. The song ends with the boy, now an old man, scattering his wife’s ashes (at least that’s what it looked like).

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who cries at those things. My real dirty secret is that I even cry at Disney movies. When Hercules leaves his adoptive parents and walks off into the sunset to find out who he really is and that song swells in the background, you can bet I’m pulling the shades so that no one sees me. πŸ™‚

    • Extreme Home Makeover? Now, THAT is honesty! (I was a Queer Eye for the Straight Guy fan for a while. I think a few tears leaked out when they redid the small apartment of the guy who had just gotten married to the mother of his small child and was getting shipped out to Iraq very soon.)

      I haven’t seen Frida. Must put it on my list.

Leave a Reply

