Weekend Compendium

Weekend was mellow, as I was PMS’ing and that equals the need for lots of sleeping and for people to be nice to me. Hermes was sweet and thoughtful. It helped that we started our weekend with a Friday night couple’s therapy session in which we continued to explore him learning to obsess less about his life and me learning to let down my uber-woman persona and let myself be a little helpless sometimes.

Saturday afternoon, I pretended to do thesis work with the TV on in the background. Actually, I’ve unearthed some really interesting research on just how deeply our various romantic relationship styles are entrenched. I love learning and reading about this stuff and discovering that my interests keep circling around the same foci: personality and meaning-making. Also, as a side note, some recent research has piqued my interest. It suggests that those who act generously and do volunteer work tend to become happier people. Makes sense intuitively, but here it is backed up statistically. Needless to say, I’m learning A LOT about myself, which ultimately is what this degree is all about anyway. It’s funny realizing how original I used to think I was and coming to find out how predictably human I am, like everybody else. Saturday night, we were going to do the Denver First Friday Art Walk, but enjoyed sitting out on the balcony watching the rain so much that we happily made ourselves part of the immediate Environmental Art Happening for the rest of the evening.

Sunday, we went down to Denver and checked out the Bodyworlds exhibit at the natural history museum. If you haven’t seen it and you can handle body stuff without losing your lunch, go! This guy figured out a way to plasticize real bodies, freshly dead and posed into interesting positions before rigor mortis set in, and then slice them up so you can see how everything fits together. There were two walking “bodies” right next to each other–one all skeleton, another all musculature–but they were actually pieces from the same body, just representations of two different functional systems. Another display had just the nervous system stripped out and laid in a body shape, and the coolest were select body parts that were just the vascular system. Imagine a whole head, made out of the webbing of bright red blood vessels, floating in space. Pretty friggin cool.

Then, last night, I went to the slide show given by a friend of mine who is just back from her trip to Africa. Last year, she decided to just quit her job, pack up her life, and go to Ghana and volunteer in an orphanage. And that’s what she did. She’s back and her stories of the poverty amidst plentitude reminded me a lot of my trip to India. It really struck her how little people have and yet how happy they are, and how, when the culture is not run by appointments and the demand to achieve more and more and more and acquire more and more and more, the meaning of life really boils down to relationship and being open-hearted, giving generously, and accepting humbly. I really needed that reminder that life is essentially what we make it. I really needed to just be around my friend again; she’s incredible the way she is so starkly truthful and yet full of kind things to say about everyone. She’s quite a being.

And, finally, after days and days of much needed rain, the mountains here have shrugged off the clouds and we’re back to global warming as usual. Carry on.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Compendium

  1. This post couldn’t have come at a better time for me… Just this weekend, I was thinking that it feels right now like my life is only about checking things off of an endless series of lists, and I don’t like it. No coincidence that this comes weeks before I go off to spend a month in a life that is all about performance, promotion, and appreciation of theater and arts. I imagine it will lead to a perspective shift of some signigicance when I return…

  2. Mm – I think that Bodyworks show was in New York when I was there a couple of months ago. I didn’t get to see it then – I hope it makes its way out to L.A. – it sounds fascinating, although I admit I get the queasies.

  3. Last year, she decided to just quit her job, pack up her life, and go to Ghana and volunteer in an orphanage. And that’s what she did.

    People like that are so awesome to me. I wish I had more of whatever it is that makes them do the things they do. What a wonderful adventure.

Leave a Reply

