Writing

Yo, everybody, I’m still here. [*She waves.*]

The extended stay in California was just what the Psyche Doctor ordered. I got some good momentum going in the literature review part of my thesis. On correlations between childhood attachment theory and adult romantic love, in particular. Interesting timing seeing as how Hermes and I have hit that stage in our relationship where we really start to see each other–warts and all–and the intimacy is feeling a bit, er, exposing. Thank God for therapy and the reminder that this is normal and that we’ll probably now be trying to find ways to mitigate that closeness a bit in order to each stand on our own two feet again. (In fact, just Monday, I was grousing to him that his questions about what I was thinking and feeling and what I meant by what I said and blah blah blah made me feel like he was “in my shorts”. Funny, heh.) We’ll have been together 7 months next weekend. And I’m still just amazed (pleasantly so) at how different this is from my past relationships. Growing up rocks.

The downside of the California trip was that I picked up a cold, typing on strange keyboards, and then spent the rest of the week stuffed up and feeling depleted. I’m just starting to feel healthy and normal again. I’m glad I didn’t make plans for this past weekend because I needed to get settled, rested, and centered. (We had toyed with the idea of doing a road trip to New Mexico.) I’m loving writing and remembering how much I love writing and reminding myself that I do have a lot I can contribute without being overly narcissistic and luridly confessional. So, I spent Saturday and Sunday working more on my thesis. And it’s gonna be one kick ass document ifIdosaysomyself.

Also, I’ve given myself a little kick in the rear and am sticking my toe in the water of non-academic, non-fiction. I submitted a little piece to the “Readers Write” section of The Sun Magazine. (If you don’t know this ad free magazine, you are missing out. I’m not usually a magazine reader. But the raw, personal honesty and depth in this one is a bright light in the storm of sensationalism and mind manipulation that you usually see on the magazine stand.) And, for a little more of a kick in the pants, I spent a couple hours on Friday at the photo lab cropping and futzing with the best digital photos I’ve taken and I’ll be submitting those for publication as well. I won’t know for months, if at all, if any of this stuff has been accepted, but at least I’m getting myself thinking in terms of being published.

One thought on “Writing

  1. Woop. Disregard the part in the post about do you have a thesis. It sounds like it is going well – yay!
    Good luck with the submissions – The Sun is a good magazine. I’m also liking Ode Magazine these days. Of course, I don’t have time to read any of them, but hey! The covers look good. ;-p

Leave a Reply

