Gallery of Misused Quotation Marks

Still doing my part to learn and spread correct usage of the English language…

A friend pointed me to this site today. It’s priceless. Here are a few samples from their collection.

Or, here’s the text from a show on the Fox News Channel about dog training. Superimposed at the bottom of the screen was:
Teaching your dog to “come”.

On a menu at a diner near Hattiesburg, Mississippi:
You’ll “love” our food!

You gotta go to the site to read the funny commentaries on the syntactically correct interpretations of these misuses of quotation marks. And if you are wondering why this is funny, recall from–when was it?–7th grade English class that quotation marks are to be used to indicate that the words are being repeated from another source or that they are being used ironically, with reservations, or in some other unusual way. Quotation marks around a word do not add emphasis to their dictionary meaning. Quite the opposite, in fact.

So, if you are ever tempted to shop at a place with an ad offering the “best” prices in town with a “free” gift and a “one year” layaway plan, then I have a “bridge” I’d like to sell you. 😉

5 thoughts on “Gallery of Misused Quotation Marks

  1. Have you ever seen the Friends episode where Joey picksup the ‘bunny fingers’, gestural equivalent of quotes? But he doesn’t really know how to use it? So he goes around telling everyone “thank you”, and “you’re a good friend.”

    Aaah, syntax humor 🙂

    • LOL. That’s too funny. Wouldn’t it be to fun to have a “bunny fingers” day? (Picture me pausing, waving my fingers in the air, jutting my head forward, raising my eyebrows, and slowing speaking and nodding with every syllable.:) We could all go around talking and writing in quotation marks and see how people respond.

      I’m already giggling just thinking about it.

  2. I love you for posting this! This is one of my pet peeves, and my husband’s family does it all the time on greeting cards that they send. “See you soon!” “Love you!” etc. Um, I want to say: “What exactly are you saying?” 🙂

Leave a Reply

