Updates

I haven’t posted for days, but the news is basically good. I saw my doctor. She wrote me a prescription for valium and for making my company limit my work week to 32 hours. She sees it as only a temporary measure, just enough to break the pattern of my muscles getting locked up until I can establish a new, healthier pattern with all my physical therapy and cranial-sacral adjustments.

I start next week working the new schedule. As for the chemical assistance, most people think of valium as an anti-anxietal, but it actualy started as a muscle relaxant. Doc says to take only half a pill at night and then the other half if the pain wakes me up in the middle of the night. And I’m to keep this to every other night so as to not get addicted. I’m cool with that.

So, I took it Tuesday night, and Wednesday I woke up a new woman. Or, actually, it was like the old pedalinfaith was back. My god, I had forgotten that I’m actually a pretty darn fun person to be around. My back muscles were all loose and I could feel them going, “Oh, yeah, I remember now what being open and relaxed used to feel like.” I was all giggles and jokes and full of energy on Wednesday. It was just so striking to me to realize just how much of my energy was being slowly siphoned off by the distracting back pain. So, all I can say, is hallelujah.

My manager started making some more noise at work about my special chair, sending emails to everyone that counted with included pictures of me working from the floor of my office propped up on pillows, and explaining that I had had an ergo evaluation like 6 or 7 weeks ago and still had no chair and so things had continued to get worse and so I was now going on partial disability hours. Well, you can guess what happened next. The corporation is now ordering this super expensive chair and paying like $500 to fed ex to me by Monday. OK, I needed some sort of forward movement on the request, but overblown panic is usually not necessary. Typical corporate craziness.

In other news, Hermes has asked to go to an introductory tango class tonight. So, of course, I’m jumping on the opportunity!

5 thoughts on “Updates

  1. Oh, I’m so relieved and glad for you that you are getting somewhere with this. Chronic pain can really drag down all of our resources for everything in our lives, so I’m glad you’re experiencing people working with you to get this fixed, and good results from the actions taken.

  2. It’s really incredible how much energy it takes to be in pain all the time. I’m glad they’re getting you what you need, albeit in a crazy way, and I wish you hadn’t had to sink into agony to get it, butif the chairt works at the end of the day, that’s the point. (How do you, like, type in it though?)

    • Well, I’m getting me one of those rolly lap desks that looks like an easel on wheels. But I could probably just put my laptop in my lap too. I’m not sure how it’ll work out yet.

Leave a Reply

