Scooter is Dead. Long live Scooter.

I think Scooter (my trusty vehicle) has seen her last days. Hermes and his buddy went to fix my overheating problem today, figuring it was probably a faulty thermostat (a cheap and easy fix). It’s not. The engine fan isn’t going on. So, basically, I can drive it for about 1/2 hour but as soon as I stop, the engine stops being air cooled and so it overheats. I can get by with hobbling around town for errands. But I’m stranded in Boulder. So, I can fork out probably a couple hundred bucks to get her fixed or finally break down and get a different car. Harumph.

I’ll be sad to see her go. We’ve been together 14 years and 140,000 miles. She put up with me treating her like a jeep (which she ain’t) and driving her up rocky, mountain back roads in order to access hiking trails. The only thing that makes me feel good about this is that she had a good, long run and I’ll do some charity a nice deed by donating her to them.

So, now I’m about to get a membership to Consumer Reports to get a feel for what I should buy. I’ll have the membership for a month, at least. If there’s anything any of you want me to check out on Consumer Reports for you, since I have the account, lemme know.

On another note, have you noticed that there are a lot of endings (or feelings of endings) going on in my life right now. I wonder how many things in my life are going to change this year. Glad I’m not going through all this alone.

5 thoughts on “Scooter is Dead. Long live Scooter.

  1. Scooter

    Found your post because you mentioned Boulder (I live here too). Here’s my blog: go to silverfernrealty.com then click on “research blog”.

    Just a thought. Did you check the fan sensor switch? If that’s fried, your fan won’t turn on and off and it’s cheaper than a thermostat. You/your mechanic should test the fan by bypassing the switch. Since you’ve already ruled out the thermostat, there’s not much else! If it’s the fan, expect to pay a bit more than a switch, but still a heck of alot cheaper than a new car!

    Box freezers would be something that I wouldn’t mind looking up on consumer reports. πŸ™‚

    Best,
    Osman

    • Re: Scooter

      Hi, Osman.

      Nice to meet you. When I get a bit of a break, I’ll peruse your blog. Thanks for the fan sensor suggestion. My boyfriend unhooked the electrical today and tried to power the fan straight off the battery. No worky. Which means that there is some mechanical failure in the fan itself. It probably got messed up in the accident in January, seeing as how this problem cropped up for the first time the day after. (A semi side-swiped us on I-70.)

      I’ll call my mechanic tomorrow and see what he’d estimate for a fan fix.

      As for freezers, here’s what CR recommends:
      If you need a lot of storage:
      Whirlpool EH150FXM[Q] $360 (chest)
      Maytag MQU1554AE[W] Amana AQU1525AE[ ], Wood’s V15WB01E[ ] $365, CR Best Buy (upright)
      Both offer excellent energy efficiency. The Whirlpool chest freezer has better temperature performance, while the Maytag upright provides more convenient storage.

      If storage isn’t a priority for you:
      Holiday (Lowe’s) LCM070LB
      $175 (chest)
      A good value, this small chest freezer does an excellent job at keeping food frozen and includes a power-on light.

      If you live in an area that is prone to brownouts and blackouts:
      Frigidaire FFC1311D[W] FFC13K0D[ ], FFC13C3A[ ], Kenmore (Sears) 1434[ ]
      $330 (chest)
      This manual-defrost chest freezer model performed very well in our power-outage tests and is also very energy-efficient. One drawback: It lacks a power-on light.

      If you want a self-defrosting model:
      Frigidaire FFU1764D[W] FFU17FK0D[ ], LFFU1765D[ ], AFFU1766D[ ] Kenmore (Sears) 2475[ ]
      $500 (upright)
      This medium-sized upright combines very good performance with convenient features such as interior and power-on lights.

      Happy freezing!

  2. I love my ’05 Subaru wrx. It handles everything I’ve thrown at it
    with much aplomb so far. πŸ™‚ I’d definitely check out Subarus. And, I’d be interested in hearing what CR has to say. (since you now have a membership) πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

