Mood Thermometer

My mood is improving. The sun is out, the snow is melting, I had a good cry after the Doo Dog post, Hermes wants to come over tonight and take care of me, and frankly I’m having an excellent hair day. If my eyes weren’t puffy from crying, I’d have my picture taken for a replacement employee badge.

I decided it was stupid for me to be sitting at work when I could be at home and give my hips and my heart a better rest. So, now, I’ve got Doo laying on my left leg, P’Sheesh (my cat) laying on my right, and I’m reviewing documentation.

As for my ongoing laundry list of complaints …

10. The state of the world sucks. Especially this country. I’m embarrassed by our behavior. What makes our country exceptional is not its ability to produce wealth. It is our defense of civil rights and the wide range of possibilities for an individual life. And that’s being sold out by institutions we trust and we’re going along with it because of some skewed sense that we need it for our safety and security. And there’s no end in sight. We are in the midst of age of rigidity and righteousness. We are locked down. People are turning on each other. It scares and angers me. I think about this kind of stuff a lot lately. It makes it hard to sleep easily.

9. My relationship to my job is still a problem. I’m good at what I do. But I don’t feel I belong there any more. I don’t have a clear enough, hopeful enough image of what my life could look like without the career I’ve had all my adult life. And, probably more importantly, I get down on myself for being such an impotent wuss about bellying up to the bar of change.

Lest we forget about complaints 8 through 1 …

2 thoughts on “Mood Thermometer

  1. we’re going along with it because of some skewed sense that we need it for our safety and security.

    I’m even more cynical than you are. I don’t think we’re putting up with it because we think we need it for safety. I think we’re putting up with it because fixing it would take effort. We’re not quite sure what the protocol would be, or who has the authority to do something. So we point and kvetch, but don’t really do anything.

    Truth is, apart from “wait ’til the next election” (with less than no faith that the election results will be valid), or a violent coup, I don’t know what the protocol would be, either. And like most of the rest of the 300 million of us, I’m just struggling to get on with my own tiny little life. So I guess I deserve the government we have.

Leave a Reply

