Writing Vacation

Well, it’s official. I’ve got it scheduled with work now to take the last week of December and the whole month of January off. PAID vacation. I’m gonna use it to write that bleepity bleep master’s thesis on loneliness and longing oh yes I am, and I can’t wait! I love my thesis (which I think might also be a book in the making) but I never have enough time to get momentum going in the normal flow of my life. And when I do take the time, that means that I end up having to steal time from other places just to do the basic activities of daily living.

I used to go on week-long solo retreats every year. I’d sit, meditate, go for walks, hardly talk, and slow way down and follow the moment in a way that just isn’t feasible when I know I’ve got to be some place at a certain upcoming time. It’s truly divine. Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmm. But I haven’t for the last few years because of school. This is going to be like a month-long retreat. When I read/write at that depth and really let myself have the process, time just falls away. I forget to eat. I get sleepy at odd hours. My body stops obeying a 24 hour day.

I haven’t decided if I’ll stay at home (which is the most convenient because my personal library with all my written annotations is there) or if I’ll throw my library, cat, and dog in my car and go get a cabin in the mountains. Either in Rocky Mountain National Park (45 minutes away) or my most favorite place in Colorado: Chaffee County (2 hours away). If I stay at home, I think I’ll schedule 2 to 3 private tango lessons during the weeks as well. Just to keep my body moving and to provide a little structure to some of the days so that I do get out of my jammies and get some fresh air once in a while.

Wheeeeee! I’m more excited about this than I would be if I were planning to use that month to go some place exotic. I guess I am going some place exotic … it’s just gonna be in the inner world instead.

One thought on “Writing Vacation

Leave a Reply

