Minor Indiginities and Small Joys

Hooorah! On the way to work today, I stopped by the trendiest superstore in Pune. I figured, if anybody is going to have tampons, it would be them. And, lo and behold, they had one kind and it was a brand I recognized and felt good about.

Last night, I was thinking, as I went to bed and was down to my last provision and imagining the indignity awaiting me and had no idea how to resolve the situation, that this is just the kind of thing that I used to beat myself up for having let happen and then nearly panic over trying to control the situation. But I chose not to and, because of all of the work I’ve done on myself over the last years, that choice was not even hard. And it all worked out fine.

Even if I never learn another thing in this lifetime, I’d say that this incarnation still wasn’t wasted if all I learned was to not worry and unlearned trying to control everything damn thing. I’m proud of me.

3 thoughts on “Minor Indiginities and Small Joys

  1. Even if I never learn another thing in this lifetime, I’d say that this incarnation still wasn’t wasted if all I learned was to not worry and unlearned trying to control everything damn thing. I’m proud of me.

    Yes, just a minor, easy lesson…

    Wha..? If all you learned is one of the hardest things to learn..? You should be proud of yourself — it’s fucking fantastic!

  2. Proud of you too

    Great adventure, and glad it worked out, and you saw amazing things.

    You can always improvise with handkerchiefs, toilet paper (if there is any) or soft cotton rags. But glad you didn’t have to.

    • Re: Proud of you too

      Well, with the kind of period I was having, I would have soaked through that kind of stuff in minutes. I was suddenly understanding the need for a menstrual hut. 🙂

      Thanks for your kind words and helpful ideas. I’m relieved that one came off without a hitch too.

Leave a Reply

