Splinters (Age Eight)

Today I’m wearing my favorite pants: store bought, Holly Hobby, with “Love makes the world go ‘round,” written around the ankles. I proudly dressed myself this morning. Now, teased and shamed, I sit alone and straddle a log on the playground, counting the moments until recess is over. I scoot forward and the log embeds splinters into the crotch of my pants. I try not to move. Please, please, please, I hope recess is over soon.

[Other images in this scrapbook can be found here.]

Leave a Reply

