meditation revisited

I noticed today that the process of learning to meditate is like learning to dance. There is an essential core of an experience that I’m trying to reach. But starting from the outside, all I can see and relate to are the mechanics of it. What does one do with their eyes? Their breath? Posture? What do I do with my thoughts when they come up and attract me? But, for example, when I’m dancing and its flowing, my mind is not busy managing all of those things. I think of something and it’s already done, just like that. It’s so intuitive. Or, I don’t even think, I just respond. And the process of focussing and being ready and available to respond and then flowing with it does puts me into a consuming, trancelike state.

Leave a Reply

